Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia

Rector Selection Announcement


From the Senior Warden


On behalf of the Vestry and Rector Search Committee, I am extremely pleased to announce that we have called the Rev. Scott Parnell to be our next Rector. Scott comes to us from Christchurch School and Vauter's Episcopal Church, where he has been serving the last few years. His leadership style is an enthusiastic and caring one, and I am sure we will all enjoy working with him. We look forward to welcoming Scott in the coming weeks! His first day in the office will be Monday, July 13.


Scott hails from Charleston, SC. In middle school, he was baptized and confirmed in the Episcopal Church, and a few years later first felt a call to ordained ministry. He attended Furman University where he majored in Chemistry and Religion, as well as began his career in Youth Ministry. After graduation, he moved to Corpus Christi, TX where he served as the Director of Youth Ministries at the Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd. Sent from the Diocese of West Texas, he earned his MDiv from Virginia Theological Seminary, and was subsequently ordained. For the last three years, he has served as the Chaplain at Christchurch School and Priest-in-Charge of Vauter's Episcopal Church. His wife, Pilar, is also an Episcopal priest and serves at St. Stephen's in Heathsville. They have a daughter, Charlene, who is one year old.  


Bruce Forsberg


From Scott

Dear People of Ware,


It is with great joy and much excitement that I accept your call to be the twentieth Rector of Ware Episcopal Church. I look forward to getting to know each of you over the next few months, that we might care for one another and together discern how God is calling us to serve the people of Gloucester, Mathews and Middlesex. God has given us a great task: that we might see the world as God sees it, so that we might love the world as God loves it. I am blessed that I am able to do this, with you. 






A Message from the Search Committee
« previous
return to main